Pondering

Two days ago, a friend (who is reading a book by Irvin D. Yalom, which I’ve never read but am now on the list for at the library & am hoping is as intriguing as this tidbit suggests) proposed using this thought experiment to approach decisions both large and small:

Imagine that after this life is over, you will live the same life again a hundred times, a million times, an infinite number of times. And every moment of those repeated lives will be exactly the same as the moments of this first one. You have to do all the same things, make all the same choices. You can’t change a thing, you just have to keep living exactly the same life over and over and over.

Now, how do you feel about the decision in front of you?

I am not completely clear about why this blows my mind, but it does. It makes everything seem clearer–past bad choices much more awful, current joys much more palpable, all decisions much more free and less guilt-ridden. I don’t really get why it has that effect on me, but I’m sure going to be thinking about it for a while.

Does it do anything for you?

2 thoughts on “Pondering

  1. well, it sure makes me want to improve my attitude if nothing else! If I’m going to have an infinite number of repeats, i better stop being such a damn grump!

Leave a Reply

