Why I’m Thinking it Might be Time to Wean

1. August, at age two years, three months, has started calling them “the big one” and “the little one.”

2. A guy on Sesame Street was listing words that end with Z: jazz, glitz, fizz. “And,” August added with conviction, “bubz!” It’s a little eerie nursing someone who knows so much about phonics.

3. This is a detail from May’s latest family portrait:

That scribble above the word mama might very well be an attempt at sounding out boobs. May has been copying a lot of words down and spelling with help, but this would be the first time she’s tackled deciding what letters to use on her own.

So: nutrition, comfort, linguistic fodder, artistic inspiration…I’ve got it all, here. It does seem like it’s gone on a bit long, though. And do I hope they even out a bit after we stop nursing.

10 thoughts on “Why I’m Thinking it Might be Time to Wean

    1. I can definitely see being very sad about weaning once it’s done … this is my last baby! On the other hand, I’ve been lactating for four and a half years straight, and I’m curious to see what it feels like on the other side of that…

  1. This is funny.

    I wonder how I’ll know its time to wean Petunia. With Pumpkin, it was time to wean because I was pregnant with Petunia. I’m not planning to get pregnant again….

    1. I’m kind of in that boat as well, Cloud. May only ever slowed down on the nursing because I was pregnant. She didn’t completely stop nursing until Aug. was four or so months old. So I am new to this whole idea of intentional weaning…

  2. That is very, very funny. Also, I want to see you wear your hair like that. And I’ll try not to try to guess which one is the little one and which one is the big one next time I see you.

  3. I’m getting to the stage (18 months) where nursing feels more like work than it should. but at the same time I’m reluctant to give up the sweet, easy nap and bedtime ritual. Luckily, the boy does not yet speak.

    1. 18 months is a *hard* nursing time … I think lots of kids go through an obsessive nursing period at that time and it feels like it’s never going to let up. At least that was my experience.

Leave a Reply

