The List

Please complete the following sentence:

I wish someone had told me that one day soon, out of the blue, my child would say to me, “__________ _____ _________________ __________,” because I sure had a hard time coming up with a non-stifling, honest, appropriately informative but not overly frightening response on the spot.

We’ll get lots of people to answer, then make a book listing all the horrifying possibilities, and fewer of us will get caught with our pants down. Ok?

I’d tell you the thing May said last week, but it’s quite distinctly her story, not mine to tell. Suffice it to say: normal childhood thing, high stakes conversation, wish I’d thought it through ahead of time, hope you’re more able to share yours than I am.

7 thoughts on “The List

  1. Hmmm. Pumpkin is only 2.5, so we haven’t had too many of these yet.

    Our worst so far was when she was sitting on her potty and pointed down and said “what’s that?” and before I could answer, Hubby said “your lady bits”. And now that’s what she calls it. Sigh.

  2. What is god? (atheist edition, please)
    What is praying (see above)
    Tell me about when the world exploded and people first came to the planet.

Leave a Reply

